1 Setting You Should Change in Your Google Account TODAY!

20131112-083739.jpg Step 2: Go to “Privacy & Terms” a/k/a “Privacy” at the bottom of the page. Step 3: Go to “Terms of Service” then “Updates” then “Summary of Changes.” 20131112-083748.jpg Step 4: Find the “Shared Endorsements” section. 20131112-083755.jpg Step 5: Scroll all the way to the bottom and click to uncheck the box next to the paragraph that makes it sound as though you are giving Google permission to use your information. (Ignore the check box if it is already blank. But check back in a week or so to make sure a check does not automatically appear.) 20131112-083803.jpg Step 6: Click “Save” and log out. Update 11-12-2013 at 3:05 p.m. Several people have written me through social media asking why this matters. It’s a valid question, the answer to which depends on how you feel about the use of your apparent endorsement of products, which endorsement someone else controls. The following is my reply to one such question and link to another article on the subject: “By unchecking the box, you will have control over WHICH reviews are shared. Otherwise, Google will decide for you and will use your image and name to sell products at their discretion at any time whether that was your intent or not. Unlike a review that you can amend later if the product turns out to be garbage, presumably Google will control how long you are associated with the good or service. Personally, control over the use of my name and image is important to me. If you don’t care, then just go with it!” Your Face and Name Will Appear in Google Ads Starting Today]]>

You may also like...

Comments are closed.